Arriving in Morocco (September 16th)

Our 2nd flying experience in Europe was much better than our first (remember with RyanAir we had 7 hour delay and didn’t arrive until 330AM). However, we were still delayed an hour and a half, but we arrived in Casablanca and made our way through customs. I got frustrated, haha, because we were now in our 3rd country / 3rd stamp in the passport and Haley had now passed me in the amount of countries visited because I have already been to Spain and Morocco so those didn’t count towards my total.

On a serious note though, entering Morocco felt immediately different than either Spain or Ireland. I don’t know what it was but I immediately felt unsafe. I felt like Haley and I needed to stay close and be more aware of how we acted. While we were now in Africa, Morocco feels much more Middle Eastern.

Things dramatically improved though once we arrived in Rabat and we were able to meet up with our friends Peter and Summer. Summer graciously prepared several home cooked meals for us (as well as Peter contributing his world famous waffles for one meal). After eating out every meal for the last two weeks, being able to sit down at a table and have a real meal with good friends was incredible.

